I’m Reading Too Many Books!

It’s not what it sounds like.

It’s not that I’m reading too much, I’m just literally reading too many books at the same time.  I normally don’t do that, and now I remember why:  I don’t finish them as fast.

When I was a kid, I could have 6 or 7 books going at one time just fine.  My parents used to tease me about it.  I haven’t done it (except as required for school) as an adult.  And then, this past week, it just happened.

Here’s how it happened:  I put aside The Emperor of All Maladies because I wasn’t getting though it fast enough.  Every so often, I pick it up a read a while, then I move on.  It’s working for me.  After I finished Outlander, I started reading The Book of Strange New Things, by Michel Faber – that was my primary reading material for the last two weeks or so.  Then I had to take a road trip and needed a way to pass the time, so I started listening to the audiobook of All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr. Then (because I’m still not done!) I went out to eat last night by myself and forgot to take The Book of Strange New Things with me.  It was simply unfathomable to sit at a table and just eat (can you even imagine?!) so I went to the bookstore and picked up The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin.

On the surface, that’s all well and good and I’ll finish them all in their own time.  But what I’m afraid of is getting overwhelmed by choice when I want to read and opting not to read instead.  We’ll just have to see how it goes, I suppose.

Can you read more than one book at a time?

Leave a Reply

